The United Republic of Tanzania

Wami/Ruvu and its associated Coast Rivers


Wami/Ruvu Basin is one of the nine River and Lake Basins of Tanzania. The Basin board was established in July 2002 under Water Act No. 42 of 1974 of Water Utilization (Control and Regulations) with its amendments No. 10 of 1981. But the former Act has been repealed with recently Water Resources Management Act No. 11 of 2009.

The Wami/Ruvu Basin is located in the eastern part of Tanzania and has a catchment area of 66,294 km2. The basin has two major rivers of Wami and Ruvu with an approximate area of 43,742 km2 and 17,789 km2 respectively and it has coastal rivers located to the Eastern part of the Basin flowing into Indian Ocean, most of which are located in Dar es Salaam Region.

The source of Wami River is Chandama highland (EL+1,511m) in the northern Tanzania and the catchment has an area of  43,742 km2 and 637 km long. The Wami River runs through Dodoma, Bahi, Chamwino, Mpwapwa, Kilosa, Mvomero and Bagamoyo districts and drains into the Indian Ocean.

On the other hand Ruvu River is originating from Mt. Uluguru with a catchment area of 11,789 km2 and 316 km long , It runs through Morogoro, Kibaha and Bagamoyo districts and drains out to the Indian Ocean.

In charge of the basin operations is the Water Officer who is also the secretary of the Basin Water  Board.

The Head office of the Basin is located in Morogoro Municipality with other sub-offices in Dar es Salaam and Dodoma.

For more information please visit